OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED**
Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE**
Sacramento County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

April 6, 2017

The Honorable Jim Cooper State Capitol Building, Room 6025 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Cooper:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 469**, your proposal relating candidate filing forms and deadlines. AB 469 will set defined time periods for in-lieu petitions and nomination petitions that no longer overlap.

Under the current law candidates may obtain in-lieu petitions that can be circulated to obtain signatures to off-set all or part of the candidate's filing fee. These in-lieu petitions can be obtained starting at E-158 and must be turned in by E-103. Also under current law, these in-lieu signatures can be also be applied toward the nomination signature requirement, but the candidate still must return the in-lieu petitions by E-103 and notify the election official of their intent to use these signatures for that purpose.

Current law also states that nomination papers can start being obtained at E-113 and must be filed by E-88. Filing fees are due when picking up the nomination papers. If a candidate is using in-lieu petitions, the election official has a period of time to determine their validity and adjust the filing fee. Presently there is an overlap of 11 days when in-lieu petitions are still able to be circulated and nomination papers are available to be filed. This overlap creates confusion and room for error for candidates and counties alike.

AB 469 offers clarity to this confusing process by changing the time periods for the in-lieu petitions and the nomination period to separate events that no longer overlap. Your proposal also eliminates the supplemental in-lieu petitions which creates another layer of confusion and an opportunity for error. This will provide a clear and concise calendar that will be easier for candidates to understand and easier for counties to explain.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at lavinej@saccounty.net or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Tricia Webber

Sicialsebber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee